?

Log in

No account? Create an account
LiveJournal's new notifications system - Paid Members — LiveJournal [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Paid Members

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

LiveJournal's new notifications system [Sep. 5th, 2006|03:02 pm]
Paid Members

paidmembers

[ljkrissy]
Today we launched LiveJournal's new notifications system to Paid members.  The notifications system will soon be launching to all LJ users, but we wanted to give Paid account holders a chance to use it early.  (Permanent account holders already have been using it in a sneak preview, so you can hit them up for pointers!)

With the new system, you can set up notifications for all types of things including when someone adds you as a friend.  Go to the Manage Settings page to set your preferences.  Also look for the icon in profile pages and journals to track updates and changes.  Just check in to your Message Center to keep up to date on the LJ activity that's most important to you.

Paid and Permanent account holders have the most subscriptions available and also have the extra options to get notified when a user uploads a new userpic and when users add new comments to individual comment threads.  We'll also be expanding the types of subscriptions that are available only to Paid users over the coming months.  Visit the FAQ to find out the different limits and options for each account level.

Please feel free to spread the word to other Paid account holders you know.  The engineers are still working out bugs in this complex system, but if you find something you think we should know about please leave your feedback on this post in lj_releases.
LinkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: stepliana
2006-09-06 11:35 am (UTC)
this is great in some ways, but i also feel like it could be a HUGE breach of privacy.
(Reply) (Thread)
From: ex_shattered767
2006-09-06 01:34 pm (UTC)
Pretty much everything that's available for tracking could be "manually" tracked without the feature.

Yes, it could seem creepy (emails to find out someone uploaded a new icon?), but as it's all stuff that can be seen and watched anyhow, I don't understand how it's a breach of privacy. Care to elaborate?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: stepliana
2006-09-06 01:42 pm (UTC)
It's mainly tracking the comments to posts, and getting full text of stuff. What if we don't want people having email records of comments we post? What if we post something, and want to delete it, so that it disappears from LJ, but remains in someone's email box?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
From: ex_shattered767
2006-09-06 01:51 pm (UTC)
As far as comments go, that isn't much different from the comment emails people already get, aside from the fact that now people can get them when they weren't direct responses to something they posted (keep in mind that if you post an entry somewhere, you were already able to get all comments on that entry emailed to you before this feature, even if the comment was a response to someone else's comment).

In my experience, usdually a deleted comment happens when 1) someone didn't slow down when writing the comment (done it myself), or 2) it was flame-y/rude and when someone got called on that fact, they paniced. In those cases, re-reading your comment, or coming back in 5 minutes after you type the comment up to decide if you really want to post it or not can be a good prevention method.

As far as entries go, I don't know if it's emailing whole entries or just links to them, as I'm not watching anything yet. But personally, as someone who is making the move off of LJ, either way this feature makes things much easier for me than to keep coming back to LJ and checking my friends pages.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: mivlad
2006-09-06 01:52 pm (UTC)

Re: Reply to a comment...

LJ is not designed for such use, though you can use auto-screening comments to do this securely. Anyways, it is usually better to mail a user directly :-)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: defaultcrush
2006-09-06 02:24 pm (UTC)
What if you make a comment, someone screenshots the entry, and then you delete it? Same thing. Ultimately, you need to be sure that you really want people to see what you're posting publically. *shrug*
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: cdaae
2006-09-07 09:03 am (UTC)
I occassionally make a comment and then delete it immediately if someone's contact info isn't on their LJ, and I want to say something to the OP but not everyone else reading the post (knowing they'll get the comment notification and see it that way).

Mostly I like the idea of being able to be notified of new comments on an interesting thread, though.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: snarkbite
2006-09-06 03:17 pm (UTC)
The notifications from this system do not contain the text of the comment -- it's not like the current system where you get a 'copy' of the comment. With the new version, you simply get notified that there 'is' a comment, and then are provided links to go view it.

So, if someone deletes a comment before the notifed person has a chance to come look at it, they won't see it -- the email will not contain the text, it will only contain a link that will no longer work because the comment is no longer there.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: burr86
2006-09-06 03:19 pm (UTC)
Actually, the full text of comments *is* sent out -- but we don't send out the full text of entries.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: harmonatrix
2006-09-06 09:41 pm (UTC)
I've seen a lot of people bring this up...I would suggest adding an explanation about "privacy" to the FAQ.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: stepliana
2006-09-06 03:21 pm (UTC)
Ahhh... I feel much better then. All is well!
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: snarkbite
2006-09-06 07:42 pm (UTC)
actually, I was incorrect in my comment -- comment text is still sent out, like the old system. It's *entries* that are not sent out 'in full'. But comments still are.

My sincere apologies for the confusion.

(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)